A Peoples Democratic Party candidate,  Governor Godwin Obaseki, is leading his All Progressives Congress rival, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu in the Edo governorship election.

Results announced so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission indicated that Obaseki is now leading the APC candidate with over 50,000 votes.

Obaseki has secured victory in eight out of the results of 10 local government areas already declared by INEC while his opponent and APC candidate, Ize-Iyamu  has maintained upper hand in only two.

Below are the results:


PDP: 7,870

APC: 5,199

Esan central

PDP: 10,964

APC: 6,719

Esan north-east

PDP: 13,579

APC: 6,559

Esan south-east

PDP: 10,565

APC: 9,237

Ikpoba Okha

PDP: 41,030

APC: 18,218

Owan east

PDP: 14,762

APC: 19,295

Etsako west

PDP 17,959

APC 26,140


PDP: 27, 621

APC: 10, 202

Esan west

PDP – 17,433

APC – 7,189


PDP: 10,022

APC: 5,972


PDP: 171,805

APC: 114,730

Margin: 57,075

Results from only eight LGAs are now being expected.

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.